Dr Jitender Sharma

Founder, Andhra Pradesh MedTech Zone

Dr. Jitendar Sharma is a Healthcare Technologist and specializes in application of technology and innovations in health products and manufacturing sector. Having started his career at Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Medical Sciences, his experience includes at AIIMS, New Delhi, at The World Bank and at WHO headquarters, Geneva Switzerland. In 2012, he was established the Healthcare Technology Division at NHSRC, Ministry of Health, Govt. of India and was the Founder Director of India’s first and only WHO Collaborating Centre for Medical Devices.

As part of his work he proposed setting up of Asia’s first medical equipment manufacturing zone and is the Founder Managing Director & CEO of Andhra Pradesh MedTech Zone, Visakhapatnam. He also set up Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam Institute of Technology- a Government of India funded technology policy institute and National Medical Devices Promotion Council under Ministry of Commerce, Govt. of India. He is the founder Chairman of Medi-Valley – incubator under Atal Incubation Mission of Niti Aayog and Bio-Valley incubator under Dept. of Bio Technology, Govt. of India. He is the chairperson of National Biomedical Skill Council, under National Skill Development Agency. Dr. Sharma has been appointed as a Distinguished Senior Fellow at National Institute for Transforming India (NITI Aayog) which is Government of India’s central policy making institute.

He is adjunct faculty at University of Adelaide, Australia and supports the World Health Organisation, Headquarters in Geneva as Expert Advisor for medical technology on technical matters. He has authored 2 books and 20 research papers. He has been designer and coordinator for several technology intensive programs in India and teaches courses on technology policy globally. He was Awarded the European Union –India Young Leaders Award at European Union Parliament for his distinguished work. Dr. Sharma has two PhDs, four masters and seven fellowships and his trainings include those at reputed institutions such as AIIMS- New Delhi, Uppsala Monitoring Centre-Sweden, PMDA-Japan, JBI Institute- Australia and Harvard School of Public Health-USA.